06 October 2022

Real estate transfer tax on share deals – how to approach potential double taxation issues

The risk of double taxation of share deals with real estate transfer tax being assessed both at signing and at closing has been a topic of discussion since the real estate transfer tax reform in 2021.

According to the administrative decree issued by the German tax authorities on 10 May 2022, this kind of double taxation is possible but can be avoided by taking procedural steps. This GSK Update provides some practical examples as an introduction to the topic.

Print


Press contact
presse@gsk.de
+49 30 203907-7763

Back

GSK Updates
  • 02 February 2023

    GSK Update: The new Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index 2022

    Read more
  • 23 November 2022

    GSK Update: FAQs on the most important PRIIP requirements as of 01.01.2023

    Read more
  • 06 October 2022

    GSK Update: Real estate transfer tax on share deals – how to approach potential double taxation issues

    Read more
Contact person

Dr. Petra Eckl

Partner*

+49 69 710003-0

petra.eckl@gsk.de

Dr. Dirk Koch

Partner*

+49 89 288174-676

dirk.koch@gsk.de

Dominik Berka

Local Partner*

+49 69 710003-194

dominik.berka@gsk.de

Felix Schill, LL.M.

Counsel

+49 69 710003-199

felix.schill@gsk.de

Esther Seibt-Pfitzner

Senior Associate

+49 89 288174 - 676

esther.seibt-pfitzner@gsk.de

Stephan Wachsmuth, LL.M.

Senior Associate

+49 89 288174-676

stephan.wachsmuth@gsk.de

Sebastian Gerhards

Associate

+49 89 288174-95

sebastian.gerhards@gsk.de

For reasons of better readability, we use the gender-neutral generic masculine. However, the information expressly refers to all genders.

CO2 Neutral