17 May 2021

Extended trade tax deduction – New legal provisions on e-mobility, electricity for tenants, and miscellaneous landlord services

On 22 April 2021, the German parliament (“Bundestag”) passed a modification to the so-called extended trade tax deduction (“erweiterte gewerbesteuerliche Kürzung”) with respect to the supply of electricity from renewable energies, the operation of e-charging stations, and miscellaneous services for tenants.

Under these new legal provisions, the “supply” of electricity from renewable energies and the “supply” of electricity for operating charging stations for e-vehicles and e-bikes will not prevent the application of the extended trade tax deduction provided the corresponding revenues do not exceed 10% of annual rental income. Likewise, “supplying” electricity using other generation methods (such as a cogeneration plant) and other services provided by a lessor to a lessee, especially the inclusion of operating facilities within a lease agreement, will no longer prevent the application of the extended trade tax deduction in future provided the corresponding revenues do not exceed 5% of annual rental income.

Print


Press contact
Christine Ström
+49 30 203907-7763
presse@gsk.de

Back

GSK Updates
  • 24 August 2021

    GSK Update: New marketing rules for investment management companies

    Read more
  • 23 June 2021

    GSK Update: The new German law on corporate due diligence in supply chains

    Read more
  • 21 June 2021

    GSK Update: Global data transfer: The new standard data protection clauses – What needs to be done?

    Read more
Contact person

Dr. Petra Eckl

Partner*

+49 69 710003-0

petra.eckl@gsk.de

Dr. Dirk Koch

Partner*

+49 89 288174-676

dirk.koch@gsk.de

Heiko Stoll

Partner*

+49 69 710003-285

heiko.stoll@gsk.de

Dominik Berka

Counsel

+49 69 710003-194

dominik.berka@gsk.de

Andreas Ebert

Senior Associate

+49 69 710003-0

andreas.ebert@gsk.de

Felix Schill, LL.M.

Senior Associate

+49 69 710003-199

felix.schill@gsk.de

Stephan Wachsmuth, LL.M.

Associate

+49 89 288174-676

stephan.wachsmuth@gsk.de

* Partner: A partner within the meaning of the partnership company law.
   Local Partner: not a partner within the meaning of the partnership company law.
CO2 Neutral