Woman accountant or banker use calculator and computer on table
23 March 2020

COVID-19 – Tax Relief Measures

THE CORONA CRISIS IS A HEAVY BURDEN ON CERTAIN GERMAN BUSINESSES. THE GOVERNMENT AND THE FEDERAL STATES HAVE NOW DECIDED TO GRANT TAX EXEMPTIONS TO THOSE AFFECTED.

On 19 March 2020, the Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF) and the highest tax authorities of the federal states took action in order to mitigate the consequences of the current corona crisis for all taxpayers and companies operating in Germany. The Finance Ministry sent out a letter in this regard and the tax authorities of the federal states issued a decree of identical content. The relief measures aim in particular at maintaining liquidity during the crisis and at avoiding additional strain on companies due to tax payments. Beyond that, tax optimisation can be an additional way of making it through this crisis using existing regulations (i.e. tax-free restructuring income) and tax-efficient restructuring measures.

Print


Press contact
Christine Ström
+49 30 203907-7763
presse@gsk.de

Back

GSK Updates
  • 24 August 2021

    GSK Update: New marketing rules for investment management companies

    Read more
  • 23 June 2021

    GSK Update: The new German law on corporate due diligence in supply chains

    Read more
  • 21 June 2021

    GSK Update: Global data transfer: The new standard data protection clauses – What needs to be done?

    Read more
Contact person

Dr. Dirk Koch

Partner*

+49 89 288174-676

dirk.koch@gsk.de

Dr. Petra Eckl

Partner*

+49 69 710003-0

petra.eckl@gsk.de

Dominik Berka

Counsel

+49 69 710003-194

dominik.berka@gsk.de

Andreas Ebert

Senior Associate

+49 69 710003-0

andreas.ebert@gsk.de

Felix Schill, LL.M.

Senior Associate

+49 69 710003-199

felix.schill@gsk.de

* Partner: A partner within the meaning of the partnership company law.
   Local Partner: not a partner within the meaning of the partnership company law.
CO2 Neutral