12 May 2020

COVID-19 – Inheritance and gift tax relief

Due to the economic losses caused by the coronavirus, the Bavarian tax authorities have introduced inheritance and gift tax relief measures to avoid undue hardship

By decree of the Bavarian state tax office of 26 March 2020, the inheritance tax offices and the deferral and remission offices of the Bavarian tax authorities are required to implement various tax relief measures to avoid undue hardship in inheritance and gift tax law. Requests for deferrals under Sec. 222 AO (German Fiscal Code) justified with the effects of the coronavirus crisis, will generally be granted for up to three months without requiring further evidence. Furthermore, the deferral is interest-free and should, as a rule, not be subject to a security. Applications for extending the deadline for submitting inheritance tax returns based on the effects of the coronavirus crisis will also generally be granted for up to three months without requiring further proof.

Print


Press contact
Christine Ström
+49 30 203907-7763
presse@gsk.de

Back

GSK Updates
  • 15 May 2020

    GSK Update: Post-Brexit enforcement of court rulings – current developments in the transition period

    Read more
  • 12 May 2020

    GSK Update: COVID-19 – Inheritance and gift tax relief

    Read more
  • 07 May 2020

    GSK Update: COVID-19 – Further profits tax relief

    Read more
Contact person

Dr. Petra Eckl

Partner*

+49 69 710003-0

petra.eckl@gsk.de

Dr. Dirk Koch

Partner*

+49 89 288174-676

dirk.koch@gsk.de

Dominik Berka

Counsel

+49 69 710003-194

dominik.berka@gsk.de

Andreas Ebert

Associate

+49 69 710003-0

andreas.ebert@gsk.de

Felix Schill, LL.M.

Senior Associate

+49 69 710003-199

felix.schill@gsk.de

Tim Florian Metzmeier

Associate

+49 89 288174-676

tim-florian.metzmeier@gsk.de

© GSK Stockmann 2020

* Partner: A partner within the meaning of the partnership company law.
   Local Partner: not a partner within the meaning of the partnership company law.
CO2 Neutral