Private Equity/Venture Capital

Structuring investments,
promoting growth.

In recent years venture capital and private equity have become increasingly important sources of funding, not only for young and fast-growing companies, but also for more established businesses. We know and understand both sides of the market – financial investors as well as capital-hungry companies and their shareholders.

When it comes to venture capital, we advise investors (VC funds, corporate VCs and business angels) as well as young companies and their founders. As a start-up, you will benefit from our legal expertise and our wide-ranging experience in assisting clients in financing transactions.

If you are planning to sell investments or raise venture capital, we can also explain the various options open to you and put you in touch with reputable market players best suited to you and your company’s situation. This also increases the chances for a successful transaction – a transaction that is legally secure, strategically sound and reliable.

Our private equity team assists German, Luxembourg-based and international affiliated companies with every aspect and through every phase of their transactions – structuring, term sheet negotiations, letters of intent, sales agreements, shareholders’ agreements, management participation programmes, recapitalisation, exit strategies and dispute resolution.

Venture Capital

The success of a young company depends in large part on speed and making use of limited resources as efficiently and effectively as possible. We are well aware of this.

This is why we support you and your company with established teams who have many years of experience in transactions and, where necessary, are complemented by colleagues with special expertise and sector knowledge.  We have particular expertise in the following areas:

Focussing especially on innovative industries such as FinTech, healthcare and automotive & mobility, we examine the legal viability of business models and implement them for you in close collaboration with our sector experts.

Incentives for managers and senior employees play an important role in venture capital. We begin by helping you define the legal and tax framework for such participation programmes and support you in their implementation.

Before you commit to an investment, we check the legal and tax status of the target and translate the results of our due diligence into clear agreements between investors, shareholders and the target.

We draft and negotiate participation and shareholders’ agreements and ensure by taking a solution-oriented approach that the entire investment process runs smoothly.

An investment is only as good as the exit where the investor ends up making a return. Drawing on our legal and tax expertise, we help you find the time and the type of exit strategy that is right for your business – whether it be a trade sale or an IPO.

Private Equity

We advise German, Luxembourg-based and foreign financial investors and family offices on the design and implementation of their funds. We also provide advice on investments undertaken by funds and assist with ongoing asset management.

In addition to professional investors, our clients include companies seeking capital and their shareholders. We specifically rely on our strong sector expertise in sectors including the automotive & mobility, energy/smart grid, FinTech/blockchain, healthcare and real estate/PropTech sectors. Key practices are:

We design and implement structures for funds in Germany and Luxembourg, with special consideration for the regulatory and tax environment in different European countries. Working out of our international network, our German and Luxembourg advisers are able to deliver clients seamless cross-border advice.

Based on focused and effective due diligence, we quickly provide you with an overview of the legal risks of any transaction you may be planning. When drafting and negotiating investment agreements, we then ensure potential risks are distributed fairly between seller and buyer.

The financing of a private equity transaction is an essential prerequisite for its success. In developing both established and innovative financing concepts, we work hand in hand with colleagues from our finance teams in Germany and in Luxembourg.

Regardless of whether you plan to exit via a trade sale, an IPO or through a secondary offering, we help you sell your shares.

We also advise our private equity clients on ongoing asset management, in particular on tax and corporate law issues relating to portfolio companies and on add-on acquisitions of portfolio companies.

Latest News

  • Deal News
    28 September 2022

    GSK Stockmann advises MVP Match on financing round

    GSK Stockmann advised the Berlin-based start-up MVPF Global Talent Solutions GmbH (MVP Match)– also on its most recent financing round.

    Read more
  • Deal News
    24 August 2022

    GSK Stockmann advises Unstoppable Finance on Series A funding round

    GSK Stockmann has advised Berlin-based Unstoppable Finance GmbH on its latest funding round. The crypto start-up raised 12.5 million euros and added US venture capital firm Lightsp...

    Read more
  • Media review
    03 June 2022

    Initial Public Offerings 2022 - Germany

    GSK Stockmann has contributed the chapter “IPO 2022 – Germany” for the current sixth edition of Global Legal Insights "IPO - 2022", in which we provide an in-depth overview of the ...

    Read more

Latest Events

More than lawyers.
Find the right experts.

Get to know our lawyers from our “Private Equity and Venture Capital” team.

Find a lawyer

CO2 Neutral

Private Equity/Venture Capital

Investments strukturieren,
Wachstum begleiten.

Risikokapital und Beteiligungskapital haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren zu einer wesentlichen Finanzierungsquelle sowohl für junge, stark wachsende als auch für etablierte Unternehmen entwickelt. Wir kennen und beraten beide Seiten des Marktes – Finanzinvestoren ebenso wie kapitalsuchende Unternehmen und deren Gesellschafter.

Im Bereich Venture Capital unterstützen wir sowohl Investoren (VC-Fonds, Corporate VCs und Business Angels) als auch junge Unternehmen und deren Gründer. Als Start-up profitieren Sie dabei nicht nur von unserer rechtlichen Expertise und Transaktionserfahrung – bei Bedarf zeigen wir Ihnen bereits im Vorfeld einer geplanten Veräußerung oder der Aufnahme von

Beteiligungskapital verschiedene Optionen auf und bringen Sie mit seriösen, zu Ihnen und Ihrer Unternehmenssituation passenden Marktteilnehmern in Kontakt. So erhöhen wir die Erfolgschancen einer Transaktion – rechtssicher, strategisch und zuverlässig.

Im Bereich Private Equity begleiten wir deutsche, luxemburgische und internationale Beteiligungsgesellschaften bei allen relevanten Aspekten und in allen Phasen ihrer Transaktionen – Strukturierung, Term-Sheet-Verhandlungen, Absichtserklärung, Kaufvertrag, Gesellschaftervereinbarungen, Managementbeteiligungsprogramme, Rekapitalisierungen, Exit-Strategien und Streitschlichtung.

Venture Capital

Der Erfolg eines jungen Unternehmens hängt nicht zuletzt von Schnelligkeit und dem effektiven Einsatz seiner begrenzten Ressourcen ab. Dessen sind wir uns bewusst.

Daher begleiten wir Sie und Ihr Unternehmen mit eingespielten Teams, die über langjährige Transaktionserfahrung verfügen und gezielt durch Kollegen mit speziellem Fachwissen und besonderer Branchenkenntnis ergänzt werden. Schwerpunkte unserer Tätigkeit sind:

Besonders in innovativen Branchen wie FinTech, Health Care oder Automotive & Mobility prüfen wir die rechtliche Tragfähigkeit von Geschäftsmodellen und setzen diese in enger Abstimmung mit unseren Branchenexperten für Sie um.

Die Incentivierung von Managern und leitenden Mitarbeitern spielt im Bereich Venture Capital eine wichtige Rolle. Wir stecken gemeinsam mit Ihnen die rechtlichen und steuerlichen Rahmenbedingungen solcher Beteiligungsprogramme ab und unterstützen Sie bei deren Implementierung.

Im Vorfeld einer Investition prüfen wir den rechtlichen und steuerlichen Status des Targets und setzen die Ergebnisse unserer Due Diligence im Rahmen der Beteiligungsvereinbarungen in klare Vereinbarungen zwischen Investoren, Gesellschaftern und Target um.

Wir erstellen und verhandeln Beteiligungs- und Gesellschaftervereinbarungen und sorgen durch unsere lösungsorientierte Beratung für einen reibungslosen Ablauf der Investition.

Jede Investition ist nur so gut wie der Exit, der dem Investor am Ende gelingt. Mit unserer rechtlichen und steuerlichen Expertise helfen wir Ihnen, den richtigen Zeitpunkt und die richtige Form des Exits zu finden, egal ob in Form eines Trade-Sales oder eines IPOs.

Private Equity

Wir beraten deutsche, luxemburgische und ausländische Finanzinvestoren sowie Family Offices bei der Konzeption und Umsetzung ihrer Fonds wie auch bei Investitionen aus dem Fonds und beim laufenden Asset-Management. Neben professionellen Investoren gehören auch kapitalsuchende Unternehmen und deren Gesellschafter zu

unseren Mandanten. Dabei setzen wir für unsere Mandanten gezielt unser Branchen-Know-how zum Beispiel in den Branchen Mobility, Energiewirtschaft/Smart Grid, FinTech/Blockchain, Healthcare und Immobilienwirtschaft/Proptech ein. Schwerpunkte unserer Tätigkeit sind:

Sowohl in Deutschland als auch in Luxemburg konzipieren und implementieren wir Fondsstrukturen unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der aufsichts- und steuerrechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Dabei bieten Ihnen unsere deutschen und luxemburgischen Berater einen lückenlosen grenzüberschreitenden Service.

Durch eine fokussierte und effektive Due Diligence verschaffen wir Ihnen schnell einen Überblick über die rechtlichen Risiken einer geplanten Transaktion. Im Rahmen der Gestaltung des Beteiligungsvertrags stellen wir anschließend sicher, dass diese Risiken angemessen zwischen Verkäufer und Käufer verteilt werden.

Die Finanzierung einer Private-Equity-Transaktion ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für deren Erfolg. Bei der Entwicklung sowohl etablierter als auch innovativer Finanzierungskonzepte arbeiten wir eng mit den Kollegen aus unserem Finance-Team in Deutschland und Luxemburg zusammen.

Egal ob in Form eines Trade-Sale, eines Secondary oder eines Initial Public Offering (IPO) – wir unterstützen Sie bei der Realisierung des Verkaufs Ihrer Beteiligung.

Wir beraten unsere Mandanten aus dem Bereich Private Equity auch im laufenden Asset Management, insbesondere bei der steuerlichen und gesellschaftsrechtlichen Betreuung der Portfoliounternehmen sowie bei Add-on-Akquisitionen der Portfoliounternehmen.

Aktuelle Meldungen

  • GSK Updates
    27.03.2020

    Unternehmensfinanzierung in Zeiten von Corona – Welche staatlichen Programme gibt es?

    Seit Mitte März 2020 wurden auf Bundes- und Landesebene diverse wirtschafts- und finanzpolitische Maßnahmen angekündigt, in die Wege geleitet und beschlossen. ...

    Weiterlesen
  • GSK Updates
    24.03.2020

    Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie auf Vertragsbeziehungen

    Pacta sunt servanda – auch in Krisenzeiten? Wir beantworten Rechtsfragen rund um die Erfüllung von Vertragsbeziehungen. Lesen Sie jetzt unser GSK Update zur Corona-Pandemie....

    Weiterlesen
  • Deals
    28.01.2020

    GSK Stockmann berät Investoren des E-Scooter Anbieters Circ bei Übernahme durch Bird

    GSK Stockmann hat die Investoren Team Europe, Target Global und Idinvest Partners des E-Scooter Unternehmens Circ im Rahmen einer Übernahme durch den US-amerikanischen Mikromobili...

    Weiterlesen

    Mehr als Rechtsanwälte.
    Finden Sie die richtigen

    Experten.

    Lernen Sie unsere Rechtsanwältinnen und -anwälte unseres Kompetenzteams „Private Equity/Venture Capital“ kennen.

    Anwälte finden