M&A

Exploiting synergies,
reaping success.

Mergers & acquisitions is one of GSK Stockmann’s core competencies. Around half of our internationally experienced lawyers regularly work on transactions of all sizes. Our experts embrace the most complex of M&A transactions and address the concerns and requirements of every aspect of your deal. What we apply is a 360-degree approach, guiding and overseeing the entire transaction, bringing together the right teams and offering solutions tailored to every situation to ensure we deliver the best result.  This is key in delivering a successful M&A process.

We regularly advise our clients on the full range of public and private transactions from domestic and cross-border acquisitions and sales, mergers of medium-sized and larger national and international companies through to listed corporations. Our transaction volumes typically range between €10 million and €500 million. Driven by our clients’ needs, we also work alongside a network of selected partner law firms abroad to assist us with large, multinational transactions in multiple jurisdictions.

Main areas of expertise

We advise clients on M&A transactions in a wide range of sectors and markets. Our deep sector knowledge covers areas including the automotive, health, energy and real estate sectors. We also have a strong track record advising companies in banking and finance and the IT industry on acquisitions,

sales and joint ventures.
Moreover, we are equally familiar with the financial aspects of a specific transaction and the common business models of the target companies.

The first phase of a transaction should be implemented together with a team of strategic advisers. Carefully drafted and negotiated preliminary contracts serve as the cornerstone for a quick execution and increase the likelihood of a successful closure.

We advise the seller on the complexity of the bidding process organised by them. Our services include taking the lead in all communication with various prospective buyers, supporting the legal Q&A process on the seller’s side, and negotiating transactions simultaneously with multiple bidders.

One of the cornerstones for a successful company acquisition is a due diligence prepared with an understanding of the material issues in all relevant fields of law, from corporate, labour or IP/IT law to data protection and digitisation, customer and supplier relationships, property law and tax law or regulation topics. We identify and assess the associated risks and develop strategies to avoid them. Our principal concern here is successful management of the process interfaces across different fields of law and the client’s different advisers (e.g. financial, insurance and technical, etc.).

A vendor due diligence exercise is also often useful for the seller to eliminate any stumbling blocks early on and bring the transaction to a close more quickly.

By prioritising the objectives, the entrepreneurial opportunities and the potential risks to be avoided, we develop a deal structure with our clients by working hand-in-hand with our experts in taxation and finance, and in some cases using our expertise in regulated sectors to generate noticeable added value.

The core element of every M&A deal is the company purchase agreement. With a thorough understanding of the entrepreneurial objectives that are being pursued in the deal, we implement the proposed transaction structure in well-negotiated draft contracts. At the negotiating table, we rigorously represent our clients, but with a sense of proportion and a sense for achieving a realistic negotiation outcome. In the process, we always have the client’s best interests in mind.

In cooperation with our capital market experts, we advise on complex transactions involving listed companies. We have long-standing expertise of disclosure requirements and of the special requirements of capital market law. Our transaction and capital market teams also offer advice on public takeovers and squeeze-outs. You will find additional information on our capital markets activities here.

You will find more detailed information on our expertise in the structuring of joint ventures here.

Our experts have extensive experience in this area and are familiar with the special aspects of M&A transactions in venture capital and private equity. You will find more details here.

Acquisitions of distressed companies facing insolvency have unique characteristics – we support you in assessing and hedging the economic risks involved. Our extensive experience ensures quick implementation solutions, even under time pressure. In addition, our restructuring experts can rely on an excellent network of insolvency managers and restructuring advisers. This allows us to develop constructive solutions through dialogue. You will find more details here.

In M&A transactions involving the public sector, having a thorough knowledge of the complexities and challenges of this area of law is a must. This includes public procurement law, budget law, the respective investment policies of the states and responsibilities of public administration together with certain specific approval requirements that must be complied with. After many years of advising clients in the public sector, we are not only very familiar with the regulatory landscape, but also know our clients’ political environment and the many political factors affecting business.

Latest news

  • Press review
    08.11.2019

    GSK Stockmann contributed to the publication of The Legal 500 & The In-House Lawyer: Comparative Legal Guide Luxembourg: Tax (4th edition)

    The 4th edition of The Legal 500 & The In-House Lawyer Comparative Guide (Luxembourg) for Tax has been published by Legalease as part of a series of online country comparative legal guides in order to give insight to the law and regulations in unfamiliar jurisdictions. Each country chapter is written by a firm ranked by […]

    Read more
  • Uncategorized
    08.11.2019

    Folgen der ATAD-2-Richtlinie für Fondsstrukturen

    Aufgrund der hohen Komplexität und Vielfalt der hybriden Gestaltungsszenarien ist künftig mit weniger Strukturen von der Stange zu rechnen Die Bekämpfung des ungerechten globalen Steuerdumpings stand in den vergangenen Jahren auf der Agenda der OECD und der Europäischen Union (EU). Seit der Veröffentlichung des BEPS-Berichts (BEPS – Base Erosion and Profit Shifting) der OECD 2015 […]

    Read more
  • Deals
    04.11.2019

    GSK Stockmann advises Art-Invest Real Estate and Accumulata Real Estate as the Bayerische Versorgungskammer joins the district development “Die Macherei”.

    GSK Stockmann advised Art-Invest Real Estate und Accumulata Real Estate as the Bayerische Versorgungskammer (BVK, Bavarian chamber for social benefits and pensions) became a corporate shareholder of the office and business neighbourhood development “Die Macherei” (“the makery”) in Munich. The transaction was carried out as part of an off-market deal. The “Macherei” project is creating […]

    Read more

    More than lawyers.
    Find the right experts.

    Get to know our lawyers from our “M&A” team.

    Find a lawyer

M&A

Synergien erschließen,
Erfolge ernten.

Der Bereich Mergers & Acquisitions zählt zu den Kernkompetenzen von GSK Stockmann: Gut die Hälfte unserer international erfahrenen Anwälte ist im Transaktionsgeschäft tätig. Wir stellen uns gern der Komplexität von M&A-Transaktionen und kümmern uns ganzheitlich um Ihren Deal. Unsere Beratung ist dabei durch einen 360-Grad-Ansatz geprägt: Wir begleiten und betreuen Ihre Transaktion umfassend, mit passgenau zusammengestellten Teams und richten unsere Lösungen auf Ihren Erfolg aus. So führen wir Ihre Transaktion zum Ziel.

Wir beraten regelmäßig inländische wie grenzüberschreitende Akquisitionen und Verkäufe sowie Zusammenschlüsse mittelständischer und großer, national und international agierender Unternehmen bis hin zu börsennotierten Konzernen. Die von uns betreuten Transaktionsvolumina liegen in der Regel zwischen 10 und 500 Millionen Euro. Gemeinsam mit ausgewählten Partnerkanzleien im Ausland betreuen wir auch große, multinationale Transaktionen in mehreren Jurisdiktionen.

Kompetenzschwerpunkte

Wir beraten Mandanten bei M&A-Transaktionen in sämtlichen Bereichen der Wirtschaft. Über besondere Branchenkenntnis verfügen wir in der Automobilbranche, im Gesundheitssektor, im Energiesektor sowie in der Immobilienwirtschaft. Auch die Kreditwirtschaft und

Finanzdienstleistungsbranche sowie die IT-Industrie beraten wir seit Jahren regelmäßig bei Übernahmen, Verkäufen und Joint Ventures. Der wirtschaftliche Hintergrund der konkreten Transaktion ist uns daher ebenso vertraut wie die gängigen Geschäftsmodelle der Zielunternehmen.

Bereits die ersten Schritte einer Transaktion sollten gemeinsam mit erfahrenen Beratern umgesetzt werden. Sorgfältig ausgearbeitete und verhandelte Vorverträge legen den Grundstein für eine schnelle Transaktionsabwicklung und erhöhen die Wahrscheinlichkeit für einen erfolgreichen Abschluss.

Die Verkäuferseite unterstützen wir kompetent bei Bieterverfahren, die durch diese durchgeführt werden. Unsere Leistungen umfassen die Steuerung der Kommunikationsprozesse mit verschiedenen Interessenten, die Betreuung des rechtlichen Q&A-Prozesses auf Verkäuferseite bis hin zur parallelen Verhandlung der Transaktion mit mehreren Bietern.

Eine mit Verständnis für das Wesentliche durchgeführte Due Diligence in allen relevanten Rechtsgebieten, vom Gesellschaftsrecht über Arbeitsrecht, IP/IT, Datenschutz und Digitalisierung bis hin zu Kunden- und Lieferantenbeziehungen, Immobilien- und Steuerrecht oder Regulierungsthemen, ist der Grundstein eines erfolgreichen Unternehmenskaufs. Wir identifizieren mit Augenmaß für unsere Mandanten relevante Risiken und entwickeln Strategien für deren Vermeidung. Dabei stehen wir für ein gelungenes Schnittstellenmanagement zwischen den verschiedenen Rechtsgebieten und anderen Beratern des Mandanten (zum Beispiel zu Finanzen, Versicherungen, technischen Themen).

Auch auf Verkäuferseite ist eine Vendor Due Diligence häufig sinnvoll, um Stolpersteine frühzeitig aus dem Weg zu räumen und die Transaktion schneller zum Ziel zu führen.

Mit Fokus auf die Transaktionsziele, die unternehmerischen Chancen und die zu vermeidenden Risiken strukturieren wir Transaktionen mit unseren Mandanten unter Einbindung unserer Experten im Steuerrecht und im Finanzierungsbereich, gegebenenfalls auch unter Anwendung unseres Know-hows regulierter Branchen, und generieren so spürbaren Mehrwert.

Das Kernstück jedes M&A-Deals ist der Unternehmenskaufvertrag. Mit einem tiefgreifenden Verständnis für die unternehmerischen Ziele, die mit dem Deal verfolgt werden, setzen wir die konzipierte Transaktionsstruktur in sorgfältig ausgearbeitete Vertragsentwürfe um. Am Verhandlungstisch vertreten wir die Position unserer Mandanten mit Nachdruck, aber auch Augenmaß und Sinn für die Verhandlungsposition und realistische Verhandlungserfolge. Dabei haben wir immer das Interesse des Mandanten im Blick.

In Kooperation mit unseren Kapitalmarktrechtsexperten beraten wir Transaktionen unter Beteiligung börsennotierter Gesellschaften. Mit den damit verbundenen erweiterten Vertraulichkeitsverpflichtungen einerseits und den besonderen Anforderungen des Kapitalmarktrechts andererseits sind wir bestens vertraut. Darüber hinaus betreuen unsere Transaktions- und Kapitalmarktteams auch öffentliche Übernahmen (Public Takeovers) und Squeeze Outs. Weiterführende Informationen zu unserer Kompetenz im Bereich Kapitalmarkt finden Sie hier.

Nähere Informationen zu unserer Expertise bei der Gestaltung von Joint Ventures finden Sie hier.

Wir kennen die Besonderheiten von M&A-Transaktionen im Venture Capital und Private Equity-Umfeld. Näheres finden Sie hier.

Im insolvenznahen Umfeld gelten zahlreiche Besonderheiten – wir unterstützen Sie bei der Einschätzung und Absicherung wirtschaftlicher Risiken. Unsere umfassende Erfahrung gewährleistet schnelle Umsetzungslösungen, auch unter Zeitdruck. Daneben verfügen unsere Restrukturierungsexperten über ein hervorragendes Netzwerk zu Insolvenzverwaltern und Restrukturierungsberatern. Dies ermöglicht es uns, konstruktive Lösungen im Dialog zu erarbeiten. Näheres finden Sie hier.

Bei M&A-Transaktionen unter Beteiligung des öffentlichen Sektors ist genaue Kenntnis der besonderen Anforderungen an solche Maßnahmen unabdingbar. Es müssen unter anderem das Vergaberecht, das Haushaltsrecht, die jeweiligen Beteiligungsgrundsätze der Länder sowie die Zuständigkeiten der Verwaltung und besondere Zustimmungserfordernisse beachtet werden. Durch unsere langjährige Beratung von Mandanten aus dem öffentlichen Sektor sind wir nicht nur mit den relevanten rechtlichen Themen bestens vertraut, sondern kennen uns auch in dem politischen Umfeld unserer Mandanten aus.

Aktuelle Meldungen

  • Pressespiegel
    12.11.2019Immobilientransaktionen und Investments

    Wem nutzt der Mietendeckel?

    F.A.Z. v. 08.10.19: Gastartikel zum vom Berliner Senat geplanten Gesetz zur Mietenbegrenzung von Dr. Rainer Stockmann, Partner bei GSK Stockmann, und Martina Köglsperger, Rechtsanwältin bei GSK Stockmann

    Weiterlesen
  • Pressespiegel
    12.11.2019Karriere

    Einfach mal machen!

    AZUR 02/19: Dr. Jenny Mehlitz, Partnerin bei GSK Stockmann, berichtet im JUVE Karrieremagazin für junge Juristen über ihren Werdegang in der Kanzlei und über die Vereinbarkeit von Kind und Karriere.

    Weiterlesen
  • Pressespiegel
    08.11.2019

    Folgen der ATAD-2-Richtlinie für Fondsstrukturen

    Aufgrund der hohen Komplexität und Vielfalt der hybriden Gestaltungsszenarien ist künftig mit weniger Strukturen von der Stange zu rechnen Die Bekämpfung des ungerechten globalen Steuerdumpings stand in den vergangenen Jahren auf der Agenda der OECD und der Europäischen Union (EU). Seit der Veröffentlichung des BEPS-Berichts (BEPS – Base Erosion and Profit Shifting) der OECD 2015 […]

    Weiterlesen

    Mehr als Rechtsanwälte.
    Finden Sie die richtigen Experten.

    Lernen Sie unsere Rechtsanwältinnen und -anwälte unseres Kompetenzteams „M&A“ kennen.

    Anwälte finden